top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarissa Taylor

Takeaways from CARE Social Ventures

Updated: Jul 29, 2022




My time at CARE Social Ventures (CSV) lasted 11 weeks, from May 16th to July 29th, 2022.


In this internship, I covered private sector engagement and the legal ecosystem in Palestine, the role of household laborers and labor union rights in Latin America, gender inclusivity and the global community health care worker model and how it might be improved.


CSV is an organization that works to create financial sustainability for socially beneficial companies in a time when the need for funding is great across all sectors. Ensuring that these small to medium sized enterprises can continue to operate without donor support is creating an impact beyond the initial successes of the organization because the benefits will continue to enhance communities for years to come.


Each of the projects I worked on provided a unique perspective for creating financial sustainability and expanded my toolkit for creative international development solutions. As I progress in my career, I will use insights from my time at CARE Social Ventures and will surely work to apply the lessons I've learned when working on economic development policy.


I would like to thank my supervisor for all the time she took out of her week to help facilitate my internship and for giving me the opportunity to work with CARE Social Ventures. My world has opened up to so many possibilities as a result of my time with CSV and I will always be grateful for the opportunities I was given.


I would also like to thank the Women in Public Policy Program for the Cultural Bridge Fellowship that allowed me to work at CSV this summer and the administrators that put up with my emails and checked in with me throughout the summer.


Below is more information on each of the topics I covered in my internship and a way to support each effort.


Private Sector Engagement in Palestine


Household Laborers in Latin America


Gender Inclusivity


Community Health Care Workers





16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page